In search of my own little piece of heaven

Day 2 of my October 2013 visit to Lake Como was an amazing experience. Via email communications staff at Holiday Property Solutions  (HPS) had figured out my needs, wants and dreams and compiled a short list of sample properties to show me. I was to be picked up for a tour in the hotel reception after first having enjoyed a hearty breakfast on the terrace. During breakfast I was completely lost in my own thoughts, the sun streaming through the windows, as I wondered how the day would unfold.

Giuliano picked me up at 10am. He was very prompt, and so was I. We both sat in reception waiting for the other for about 15 minutes. Then each one of us asked at the reception desk if anyone was waiting for us. Amid lots of laughter we caught up with one another and got started. It was a great ice breaker!

Well, if I had paid for a personal, professional guide I would not have done any better than Giuliano. What he doesn’t know about the region and its history is not worth knowing. He told me with such great pride and enthusiasm about the place where he was born, grew up and clearly loves. If I wasn’t already in love with Lake Como myself, his stories and information about the area would have pushed me over the edge.

Giuliano patiently showed me about eight properties in different locations in the Central Lake area; no pressure and complete honesty in each and every case. I felt that he knew exactly what I was after. As we chatted he picked up on my interests and pointed out aspects that would clearly appeal to me. Eventually we reached a location which barely had the ground broken but which was being developed by a local and highly reputable family company;Triaca. The location was perfect, on the hillside above Menaggio. The plans were practical and flexible, since the build had not yet started. The project would take about a year and the construction would be to a high standard with Energy Class A+.

The next day, with the help, support and guidance of Harold and Giuliano from HPS, I met with the builders and we finalized the initial contract. How exciting! I was actually tearful when I was dropped off at the hotel. It had been such an exciting and emotional experience! I will write more about the project later so that you can learn from my experience.

 

Leave a Reply

