getting there – it can be fun

When I first looked into visiting Lake Como, my primary concern was which airport to choose. I was flying in from Abu Dhabi, UAE and my mother was joining me from the south England. Actually, our first few days in the region were to be spent in Lugano, so I was looking at the option of flying to Switzerland as well. However, the location and the connections worked so much better for Milan Malpensa Airport (MXP). My mother and I arrived within a couple of hours of one another and at different terminals but this presented no problems at all. Malpensa is a pleasant medium-sized airport with cafes and shops where you can easily pass the time. I bought a coffee and a magazine and sat outside in the sunshine; something I had been unable to do in the UAE for a few months due to the extreme heat. It was glorious!

We were met at the airport by Sara who would drive us to our hotel in Lugano. She was such a lovely lady that we have used City Airport Taxis, a family business run by her father and herself with a dependable team, ever since. I was amazed at how thoughtful they were to send a lady driver to meet two ladies. And the owners’ daughter, at that! We felt like real VIPs as the Mercedes drove up to our hotel, the Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola in Lugano . What a great way to start our holiday!

There are many choices of transportation in Italy. I am delighted to report that all those I have tried have been efficient and of a high standard. More on transportation another day………..

Leave a Reply

