There’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothes

I was reminded of a popular Swedish saying, “There’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothes”, when planning my March trip to Lake Como. After all, it will be Spring and the weather can be quite changeable. What should I pack? So I Googled the expected weather for March based upon the available historical data. At the same time, I wanted to look up the weather for late April as I have friends travelling from Sweden at that time to stay in my apartment. I had already heard that May is usually the wettest month at the Lake and so I thought I should mention this to them. Late April is dangerously close to May, after all.

Well, suffice to say that the weather is expected to be “spring-like”. Last March I remember experiencing three seasons in the space of one week; sometimes two seasons in just one day! All of them glorious! So, back to that Swedish saying, “There’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothes”. Make sure that you dress in layers, take a jacket (possibly a waterproof one), wear good shoes (probably not sandal weather yet), and by all means take a hat and a pair of gloves for early mornings, trips on the Lake, evenings and high altitudes.

Our apartment is blessed with central heating as well as air conditioning, so time spent there will be warm and cosy. However, I for one will want to cruise around the lake on the ferries, go for long walks, sit outside drinking coffee, etc. So there is no point in packing my suitcase without some good old-fashioned forethought and careful planning for all contingencies. Don’t let your choice of clothing ruin your Spring adventure! Be prepared!

Leave a Reply

